The Secret

Hi guys!

Currently I am reading a book which is hard for me to believe. I am reading The Secret by Rhonda Byrne. Basically it is about positive thinking and the philosophy behind the book is that people who focus on good things and think the right thoughts can achieve almost everything. I don’t think they will ever be able to walk over water but things like walking after paralysis and stuff seems to be possible.

I am a scientist, I believe in logic, evidence and things I can see, touch and feel. And I am not good in positive thinking. Although the last few weeks I have been trying to change that, partly due to The Happy Challenge. Also I will try to watch the following video at least 4 times a week.

I am not sure if it will help but it does certainly not hurt. I need positivity, I need change.

The whole book is typically American, the abundant happiness, the way things are described are so typically enthusiastic. I have met a handful American people in my life and about 90% of them acts like they are always happy and enthusiastic about everything. I am starting to wonder whether they started teaching that attitude in elementary school or something. But back to The Secret, there is a whole merchandise around it (see http://www.thesecret.tv/) and it is quite interesting to browse around.

Altogether I am still not sure what to think of it. But I will try the principle to see if I can make it work for me. I already have made a secret check and I will make a list of positive thoughts I want to repeat every day. Should be something I can achieve, right?

Have you read The Secret? How do you think about it?

Love,C

Leave a Reply

