The Body Shop – Hand Crème

Hi everyone!

There are some products I am using on a daily basis. I might show you my other products in another article some day. But one of my essentials is hand crème.
My internship requires very good hygiene and as a consequence I need to wash my hands with soap about 4 to 10 times a day. The soap is one of those die-hard detergents which almost dissolves your skin and therefore it is no big surprise that I have very dry hands.

I hate having dry hands and thus I use my hand crème frequently. I used to buy just a crème, but The Body Shop had a sale and I bought two of their hand crèmes. I needed it so urgently that I didn’t make foto’s of one of them. But here they are!

TheBodyShop1 TheBodyShop2

As  you can see, I stated with the almond crème. I did not try the hemp crème yet but I will as soon as the almond is finished. Both crèmes are in nice, solid metal packagings. I have to apologize, I forgot to make pictures of the ingredients. But luckily The Body Shop has the ingredients lists online!

Almond: Aqua (water), Glycerin (glycerine), Cetearyl Alcohol, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis Oil (zoete amandelolie), Butyrospermum Parkii (sheaboter), Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Myristyl Myristate, Propylene Glycol, Isopropyl Palmitate, Glycine Soja Oil (soja-olie), Ethylhexyl Stearate, Dimethicone, Benzyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Mel (honing), Panthenol, PEG-100 Stearate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenethyl Alcohol, Bertholletia Excelsa Seed Oil (paranotenolie), Xanthan Gum, Parfum, Caprylyl Glycol, Dicetyl Phosphate, Ceteth-10 Phosphate, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Tetrasodium Glutamate Diacetate, Hexyl Cinnamal, Sodium Hydroxide, Linalool, Squalane, Hydroxycitronellal, Limonene, Coumarin, Citric Acid (citroenzuur), kleurstof: CI 15985.

Hemp: Aqua (water), Glycerin (glycerine), Cetearyl Alcohol, Myristyl Myristate, Cannabis Sativa Seed Oil (hennepolie), Ricinus Communis Seed Oil (wonderolie), Dimethicone, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Cera Alba (bijenwas), Panthenol, Methyl Soyate, Phenoxyethanol, Parfum, Sodium Benzoate, Allantoin, Citric Acid (citroenzuur), Potassium Sorbate, Xanthan Gum, Hydrogenated Castor Oil (gehydrogeneerde wonderolie), Retinyl Palmitate, Copernicia Cerifera Cera (carnaubawas), Disodium EDTA, Tocopherol (vitamine E), Talc (talkpoeder), kleurstoffen: CI 77288, CI 77492, CI 77491 en CI 77499.

Quite decent lists though I am not very happy with the perfume and phenoxyethanol, and with the coloring additives (really, why add colour?) but for my hands I am less picky than for my face. My hands do not react that often on cosmetics. For the rest, based on the lists I thought that both crèmes would be a fatty, slightly thick substance as I liked it for hand crèmes. But I was wrong. Below you can see the swatches of the crèmes. On the left, the greenish one, is the hemp and on the right you can see the almond crème.

TheBodyShop3TheBodyShop4

The almond is very watery, not that watery that it runs from your hand after applying but it is not the thick crème I expected. The hemp on the other hand seems to be how I like it. Sadly enough I started with the almond and therefore I will need to finish that one first.
For my dry hands the almond is not enough, I often need to apply it twice to make the feeling of dried out hands disappear. I only used the hemp once (for this review) but it seems to be better.

My conclusion? I won’t buy the almond hand crème again. I might re-buy the hemp but I can’t tell that yet as I haven’t used it on a regular basis.

What is your favourite hand crème?

Love,
C

Leave a Reply

